The BTEC qualifications give learners the opportunity to gain a broad understanding and knowledge of the health and social care sector. They give learners a more focused understanding of health and social care through the selection of optional specialist units and give learners the opportunity to develop a range of personal skills and techniques, through the selection of units that are essential for successful performance in working life.

Choosing to study for a BTEC in Health and Social Care is a great decision for all sorts of reasons. It is an area to work in which gives many varied opportunities to you to make a difference to people’s lives in a positive way, while at the same time gaining skills that you can transfer to other professions later. Working in the health and social care sector can also take you to different parts of the country and overseas. The opportunities are endless.

Subject Teacher: 
Mrs A Field

Curriculum Outline

Students have the opportunity to complete the BTEC level 1/2 BTEC Tech Award which involves 3 components, Component 1 learning about development through life stages, Component 2 studying care values and services and Component 3 is the synoptic exam. Assessment is 66.6% coursework and 33.3% written exam. ICT functional skills are developed by using ICT systems to research and produce evidence for assessment activities. Students become independent enquirers and creative thinkers.

The level 3 BTEC Diploma continues along the same themes with more in depth study of each topic which is backed up by work experience activities, visiting speakers, video evidence and class discussion. 
Assessment is 100% coursework and can take written or more practical forms. This course has links to most subjects especially biology, physical education, PSHE, ICT and religious studies.

Key Stage Taught (Yes / No)
Key Stage 3 No
Key Stage 4 Yes
Key Stage 5 Yes

Examination Information
Official name of course Qualification Level Exam Board
BTEC Level 1/Level 2 First Award in Health and Social Care  BTEC Level 2 = 1 GCSE Edexcel
BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Health and Social Care  BTEC Level 3 = 1 A Level Edexcel